Website Manager

2020-2021 Gala

Date/Time - Saturday, February 12, 2022 | 6PM

- Chandler Ballroom | University of Mary Washington
1701 College Avenue, Fredericksburg, VA

Thank you to everyone who made the VYSA 2022 Awards Gala a success! We look forward to next year.

Award Nominations

Each year, VYSA accepts Award Nominations for the following awards, based on the previous season. To nominate a candidate for review, please fill out the corresponding USYS Nomination Form:

Girls Recreational Coach of the Year*
Boys Recreational Coach of the Year*
Girls Competitive Coach of the Year*
Boys Competitive Coach of the Year*
TOPSoccer Buddy of the Year*
Administrator of the Year*
Volunteer of the Year*
Young Male Referee of the Year*
Young Female Referee of the Year*
Male Teammate of the Year 
Female Teammate of the Year

*Also submitted to US Youth Soccer for Regional and National Review

Submit a completed nomination with the
required forms to [email protected].

Dave Williams TOPSoccer Award

Dave Williams’ hard work, enthusiasm, and big heart helped grow the VYSA TOPSoccer program from just a few clubs to the many that now participate. His commitment and dedication to VYSA players with disabilities were exemplary.

In honor of Dave Williams’ efforts and results of his hard work, the VYSA has established the Dave Williams Memorial TOPSoccer Exemplary Service Award. Dave Williams is the first recipient of this award.
The award criteria are as follows:
a. exemplary service to TOPSoccer programs to include program development
b. exemplary service to TOPSoccer athletes and parents
c. minimum of 2 years service prior to nomination

*The absence of a qualified nominee as determined by the VYSA Board of Directors will result in no award winner being named for that year. Any nominees not selected for this award will be eligible for the Volunteer of the Year award.

A memorial plaque listing the names of those selected for this award is kept at the State Office.

2006  Dave Williams

2007  Ariel Schwartz

2011  Bob Sokolinsky

2012  Sharon Wells

2013  Wes Brownlee

2016  John Schlenker

2018  Sid Wesseldine

2021 Theodore Renaud

Adele Dolansky Service Award

This award is the highest award bestowed on a VYSA member.  It is presented by the Virginia Youth Soccer Association in recognition of exemplary service to the soccer-playing youth of the Commonwealth of Virginia and the District of Columbia.

Previous Award Winners

1996 Adele Dolansky

1997 Larry Monaco

1998 Mavis Derflinger and George Towner

1999 Len Oliver and August Wooter

2000 Dean Jones

2001 Jim Down

2002 Simon Cargill

2003 Brenda Down

2004 Anne Thompson

2005 Martin Hooker

2006 Tom Halstead

2007 Karen Knott

2008 Gary Allen

2009 John "Mac" McLaughlin

2010 Bob Maynes

2011 J. Marcelo Gangotena

2012 Paul Mungra

2013 Debi Honaker

2014 Robert Perry

2015 Julie Caramanica

2016 Ed Bonilla

2017 Barry Finkelstein

2018 Pat Delaney

2019 Karen Klumpp and George Vergara

2020 Cathy Mann

2021 Gordon Miller

*This award is selected by the VYSA President in consultation with Adele Dolansky.  No Nominations for this award are accepted.


Virginia Youth Soccer Association 10705 Spotsylvania Ave, Suite 201
Fredericksburg, Virginia 22408 Phone: 540-693-1430
Email: [email protected]

Copyright © 2022 Virginia Youth Soccer Association |Terms Of Use|Children's Privacy Policy|Privacy Statement Login